Pursuant to the California Vehicle Code, payment plans are available to qualified indigent persons with unpaid parking citations. To apply for an indigency determination and enroll in a payment plan, please review the information below, and complete the Indigency Determination Request Form in person at the Parking & Transportation office during business hours.
It is the policy of the campus that the registered owner or person responsible for parking citations shall be allowed to enroll in a payment plan upon determination of indigency. This policy has been created in response to changes in the California Vehicle Code as a part of Assembly Bill 503 (2017-18).
- A registered owner (CVC 460, 505) or person responsible for the citations shall be eligible to enroll in a payment plan when they have unpaid parking citations.
- Once this threshold is met, any citations associated with this vehicle, registered owner, or person responsible may be added to the payment plan at the time of enrollment.
- If additional citations are accrued during the payment plan period, the plan will not be modified to include these citations, nor will a concurrent payment plan be offered.
- Citations in a payment plan will not count towards immobilization/tow/impound eligibility pursuant to CVC 22651(i)(1).
- Once a vehicle is immobilized/towed/impounded due to other violations, all citations, including those on a payment plan, are immediately due pursuant to CVC 22651(i)(1)(C).
- Payment plans shall include language allowing the campus to collect additional collection costs, court costs, or attorney fees associated with the collection of outstanding debt.
- If an individual requires continued access to parking on campus, the purchase of a parking permit will be required.
- There is no fee to enroll in a payment plan. An application for indigency determination must be received within 60 calendar days of citation issuance or 10 calendar days after the Administrative Hearing (Level 2) determination, whichever is later.
- Applied late fees will be removed one time only, but any late fees not yet applied will be placed in abeyance while the payment plan is in place. If the individual adheres to the plan terms, these late fees will be waived once the payment plan is complete.
- If an individual defaults on a payment plan, a one-time extension of 45 calendar days from the default date will be allowed to resume payments, after which a subsequent payment plan will not be offered for those citations and any late fees waived or placed in abeyance will be immediately reinstated.
- Once the payment plan is in place and the individual adheres to its terms, an itemization of unpaid parking penalties and service fees will not be filed with the DMV (also known as a “DMV Registration Hold”) and any DMV Registration Hold in place will be temporarily removed.
- If an individual defaults on a payment plan and payments have not resumed within the one-time extension period indicated above, the DMV Registration Hold will be reinstated, if applicable.
- At plan enrollment, an initial payment of $25 is required for balances under $300. The initial payment for balances over $300 will be determined at the time of enrollment.
- Payments must be made each calendar month.
- There is no grace period for late payments.
- For mailed payments, a postmark is acceptable to meet this requirement.
- Payment plan duration
- For balances under $300, payment plans may not exceed twelve months.
- For balances over $300, payment plans may not exceed eighteen months.
- This policy shall not impact individual campus procedures for using the Franchise Tax Board intercept program or the student “hold” process (pursuant to policy).